education

I was born in Northern CA, but at the age of 5 my family relocated to the Seattle suburb of Mercer Island, WA. I spent my K-12 years in the Mercer Island School district, devoting my elective courses to art, drama, and music-related studies. After graduating high school, I moved to Olympia, WA and attended The Evergreen State College, focusing on a Bachelor of Arts Degree with a major emphasis in Art and Media Production.

children's software

My first career opportunity came shortly after I graduated from college. Through some peer-networking, an entry-level position opened in Los Angeles, CA for a children's software developer. This began the first phase of my career, as I continued working in children's software for the next 5 to 6 years. During this time, I explored many fun and exciting production departments, including digital ink and paint, 2-D animation, 3-D animation, digital video and photo capture and production, and audio post-production.

ONLINE ADVERTISING

Eventually, my design skills evolved from software production to include web services. This led to numerous work opportunities in the advertising field. Thus, the second phase of my career began, as I spent the next 8 to 10 years working in online advertising and marketing. This was a period of great growth for me. And many of the concepts I worked on during this time were the most enjoyable and gratifying projects of my career!

UI/UX DESIGN

With the avalanche of smart devices (phones and tablets), many interactive-media designers (like myself) have been required to re-invent themselves. The complexity of designing for varying screen sizes, the reality of important software tools becoming obsolete for certain devices, these factors and others led to the third phase of my career. During the most recent 5 to 6 years, I have focused my design skills on user-interaction, and user-experience design. This seemed like a natural evolution, as any web-design professional can understand the value of responsive and device design.

going forward

Currently, I live in Costa Mesa, CA. I'm interested in working with agencies in the Orange County area, but I would consider a position in Los Angeles County if it seems like a good fit. I'm also available for temporary, contract, or off-site work, but I prefer longer-term positions. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to schedule an interview.

Flash content, will not be viewable on devices and smart phones.